Sign in to follow this  
QuicksilverBMX

Is this a Kuwahara?

Some say it is, Some say it isnt. I have no idea. The stickers seem to be original-they are old. The serial number has been ground off in a past life. Can someone tell me if this is a Kuwahara cruiser? I tried to downsize the pics but I just got vista and I'm still learning how to drive it.

IMG_1565.jpg

IMG_1567.jpg

IMG_1566.jpg

IMG_1568.jpg

IMG_1569.jpg

Well those look like Kuwie dropouts for sure, but I can't recall Kuwies havin that little Redline style gusset.

Quick,

I think your bike is a Kuwahara, but I'd like to hear from others that know more about it.

I am in communication with a Canadian Team Kuwahara rider and I have directed him to both this thread and the on V. Although I did not buy my Kuwahara Cruiser NOS from a bike shop with a warranty tag. I did buy 2 similar frames from x-Kuwahara Team riders as told to me.

I have no conclusive evidence either way. If you look at this picture of a later Kuwahara 20" and the 1986-87 Kuwahara Magician they also had the Redline gusset support. The top tube is actually more straight as well compared to the USA 5" head tube version. Although I have obvious incentives to believe that this is Genuine Kuwahara, the facts have eluded me for years and I just opted to enjoy it and own it as it is. I do know that the truth will probably come from a Factory Kuwahara Rider from outside the USA, maybe Australia, possibly Canada.

Hey Quick did you ever talk to Australian Kuwahara Importers?

Here are a few pics to see the later Kuwahara gusset supports in various models.

kuwachamprs.jpg

Kuwahara Champ Pro

exhibisionist.jpg

Kuwahara Exhibisionist '87

magician.jpg

'87 Kuwahara Magician

kuwahara_pursur.jpg

2006 Pursur (Kuwaharas design in Gusset Reinforcement)

As you can see Kuwahara and gusset supports have evolved therefore

the answer to our question is "when did Kuwahara implement this design"

and :lol: "Are they Kuwaharas?"