Sign in to follow this  
66alfa_gtv

Diamondback Silver Streak

On a Mopar forum, a guy mentioned he has his original Diamonback Silver Streak from 1982-ish and was curious if it was worth anything. He says he probably still has the original shipping box and owners manual, and that it's almost identical to this:

498_461611.JPG

The bike is apparently in really nice shape with no scratches of missing parts. He swapped out the pedals for KKT lightnings.

I asked him for a photo of his actual bike, but he says it's just like the one in the pictures. I'm no expert on DBs, so I'm hoping some of you can offer opinions on what it might be worth. I don't think he's looking to sell.

• Like 1

My friends and I were riding on our Huffys and Murrays one Summer day in 1983 or 84 and the "new kid on the block" who happened to be the son of a doctor passed us by on that exact bike. Our jaws collectively dropped. We all thought that bike was just drop dead gorgeous.

We ended up becoming great friends. I picked up a frame a few years ago and sent it to him. Not sure if he did anything with it, but he was really touched when I gave it to him. Find out what that guy wants for it. Pics!

Which forum? I was an OG member of the MML back before it became a forum.

The tires would be where the $ is at. If the tread and sidewalls are in good shape the tires would probably double (maybe triple) the value of the bike. W/O tires the bike is probably worth a few hundy as a complete.

Diamond Back Silver Streak was my first "real" bmx bike...

They are a tri-moly frame I believe. Diamond Back is a collectible brand and does have a decent following. Silver Streaks were not as sought after as the Turbo but still a great bike...

Tell him I will trade him for a mint condition 1985 chrome Diamond Back Viper if he is interested in a trade. last year of the gusset. lol. but like some said, not worth much.

Edited by bmx bandit